I Could Write

I could write for you until the ink turned to ash and
The page wept
Until sun-kissed clouds became ghosts and
The skies ebbed and flowed like tides
I could write for you until the stars chilled and
The kiss of lead to parchment ignited them all over again
Until the last song of dawn put the last dusk to bed
I could write for you until statues knew to kneel and
Numb began to feel and
When I ran out of words, I’d find some more to steal
I could write and write and write for you
Until my body surrendered arms and
My tongue picked up the attack
I would speak to you
I would regale you
You would never lack for stories
Stories of love, stories of lust
Stories of those who did what they must
I would speak with words of iron
To brace you when you bend and
I would speak with words of honey
To warm you from within and
As my voice grew hoarse and the last light dimmed
I could find the strength to lift the pen
I could write for you
Until
The
End

3 thoughts on “I Could Write

Leave a Reply

