Passion

In your absence
I stare into my memories of you
A delicate specter sinuously
Drawing me in
Making me want
Making me crave

So when you are here
Simply
I savor you

Your skin is soft
Fair
My fingers run across it
Tracing gentle roads of pleasure
Invisible words that seem to
Come to life
Softly
With your murmurs of consent

I kiss
Faintly
Along the nape of your neck
Scant more than a brush
A beginning stroke of a
Perfect portrait of passion

My hands move in
Seductive synchronization
Needing, kneading
Working a long week into a
Weak kneed appetite

Your back arches
A gasp glides through a mouth barely open

Suddenly there’s necessity
Immediate action is required
You turn into me, press against me
Pressure
Aggression

Your eyes flare with desire
Beads of perspiration cast a shimmer under
Moonlight
The heavens survey attentively
Millions of eyes sparkling in a black canvas

And so we dance

Timidly at first through sheer force of
Will and strength but
Soon, soon, soon
Now

The tempo increases
Our hearts are timpani pounding in our ears

Furrows appear in my back
As you
Grasp for a small measure of control
As you
Lose yourself in every turbulent note
As you
Hold on for the waltz’s finale

Your shivers foreshadow
Climactic tremors and I
Hunger
For the way my name spills from your lips
Those plush, inviting, temptational lips
In ghosts, then a summons, then a declaration

The veil fades
Vision returns
Breathing comes heavy
Nestled in the crook of my arm, you look
Empyreal

— I wrote this several years ago and not even for someone. I’ve met a few women since that it would have been appropriate for, but at this point I would just feel disingenuous. It’s still one of my favorite pieces and I don’t write poetry as often as I used to (I may scrounge through my archives and see if there’s anything else I feel worthwhile), so I thought I’d share it with you.

One day down booze-free. I got a good eight hours of sleep last night and while my dreams were almost torturous, I woke up supremely rested. So far, so good.

I’ve been talking to this girl for a few weeks now. We had dinner on my birthday and I’ve found we have a lot more in common than I had expected. In any case, a conversation last night inspired me to write a more positive blog post or two about my family (in comparison to the crushingly depressing one I wrote on Friday), so expect one of those to pop up today or tomorrow.

Bonjour, mes amis!

Leave a Reply

